May the Fourth be with you !

I find it fitting, that as a glorious May the 4th draws to an imminent closure, I sit here, filled to the brim with good feelings, writing the last text of the day, as the rebellion descends upon the second Death Star and the Emperor attempts to turn Luke onto the path most likely to produce even more incest memes. Lets get it out of our systems once and for all, yes they kissed, yes they had a thing for each other, and yes, maybe they knew and maybe they went for it. In the end some have liberal views on the matter and we cannot and should not attempt to control what consenting adults decide is “a good time”. I guess the irony here is that my acceptance for incest long ago in a galaxy far far away, also leads me into having to say that George Lucas can do whatever he wants to the trilogy, but like Han I always shoot first so lets not discuss that..

So let us agree that indulging in ones desires is a good thing. Let us agree that we let the Luke and Leia thing slip, pass it off as an experimental phase. It was the 70’ies after all, things were different and space aids wasn’t invented yet, nobody had any idea of what anything would lead to. I mean come on, there was a huge corporation that built a giant machine of death, nobody had the good grace to tell them to stop, so we assume the paperwork wasn’t public and no masking tape was found on a door handle. So no spacegates either.

Yeah lets live that dream a bit and lets indulge our inner evil Jedi.

As my last effort for today. I thought of an experiment or a challenge if you will. The task was simple. Create two dishes that represent either side of the struggle. The self-indulgent siths and the selfless Jedi’s.

As I write this I realize this is the first time on this blog, that I’ve actually talked about food and the making of, not some crazy story of how I like the color yellow and that infanticide is here to stay, no, actual food and actual cooking.

To me, the sith or dark side Jedi. Is a person that only believes in furthering of the self. If I have to draw parallels to existing paradigms, I’d say that the sith represents the western world of today. Greed, the lust for power and the need to be all about the self, rather than the collective. The sith chef will always create extravagance in order to amaze and garner praise from those that he serve. Much like the western world of today, where stepping on someone to get further is a case of when to do it, than “should I do this?”. Siths enjoy things that will not take a great deal of attention or even time. Patience is a hindrance, so therefore the dish had to be an instant pay off dish.

Based on cream, mushrooms and garlic. I made a simple stew that would grow into a thick, fat mess that would congeal arteries faster than Luke could embarrass others by letting it be known just how good of a T-16 pilot he is. Pork belly, roasted slowly and with next to no fat removed, acted as a way to even further thicken the stew itself. It became a bubbling cauldron of fascism, a dish that in many ways had the scent of arrogance. But far from done, I was.

Siths and fascism go hand in hand. Fascism is an italian invention and therefore my dish needed meat balls. Decadent meatballs. Oozing with the delicate flavour that only good cheese evokes. Everything was thrown together, spinach added and the dish stood nearly complete. Avocado, tomato and freshly made soft tacos, topped with the greens, the avocado paste, lined with cheddar cheese and the delicate stew. It made for a dish that could be sold on look alone. A bite and I was off in a different head space. Thinking of the people in the street below, more as ants than people, pretend bombing them while Ride of The Valkyries play in my mind and I laugh maniacal whilst silently mouthing the words “smells like victory”.

20140501_124340

The Jedi, is selfless. The dish had to portray a patient process. Carefully measured use of ingredients. Meat was at first not included, but since I was cooking not only for me, but for my girlfriend aswell, I decided to beef it with some pork chops and sausages. Now as to what I specifically did I would love to tell you, but I simply do not remember. Many many things went into the stew, but the cooking took well over an hour and was a process of many steps, to deepen the flavor. It was based on potato and onion. That much I remember, a soup more than anything. I pan roasted potatoes with parsley at some point. Added mushrooms after milk and cream, water. Let it simmer and what I got was an unassuming dish that looked and tasted very peasanty. At first I was slightly disappointed, but patience paid off and the more it sat there, while we ate, the more the flavors deepened to reveal a satisfying rich dish, which cost little to no money and which made me feel like I was about to accept death by Darth.

20140503_234002

All in all this experiment was very succesful, gimmicky yes, but a good learning experience. I have a strange and very close connection to the philosophy behind cooking. There is something hidden in here, but as of now I am drawing a blank. As Luke relaxes on Endor and Hayden Christensen makes an unwelcome appearance. I realize that May the Fourth 2014 may have been much more than “just another star wars day”

Patience and time will reveal the true meaning behind all of this, so I shall return in the following week. For now I will retreat to my chambers, bunk or barracks. I will look at holographic dancers (really someone needs to give these poor space rats a Netflix membership) and sleep, well knowing that Vader is dead and gone. Jar Jar will never return and there is well over a year until the sense of dread, fear and terror will grasp me. Before I will sit down in the theater, about to watch another new Wars film and utter the now so ominous words that should never be uttered, but sadly hold more truth and adult fear than ever before….

“What if it sucks?”

– From the movie Fanboys

Thank you for supporting through the day, thank you for your time, your likes and follows. I hope your day has been as amazing as mine and that you all share the good message of peace, patience and good eats.

May the Fourth be with you!